Tucson Advertising Hall of Fame

Important News!AHOF

Tucson Advertising Hall of Achievement 2020 event Postponed

Amidst stay-at-home orders and social distancing of the COVID-19 crisis, The Tucson Advertising Federation Education Foundation (TAFEF), with the American Advertising Federation Tucson (AAFT), have cancelled the 2020 Tucson Advertising Hall of Achievement awards and rescheduled it for 2021.

This year’s cancelled event, planned for Sept. 10, will be held Sept. 9, 2021 at Hacienda del Sol.

Award nominations for the 2020 event had been due May 5. Since no awards will be made this year, those nominations will be rolled into the names under considered for the 2021 awards.

Those awards include induction of honorees into the Tucson Advertising Hall of Fame, which recognizes marketing and industry professionals who have led, mentored and inspired others as part of the AAFT. Other Hall of Achievement awards include the AAF Silver Medal Award for lifelong contributions to the industry here, the Ad Professional of the Year, for being an outstanding role model to others in the industry, and the Next Generation Award, which recognizes outstanding advertising professionals, age 40 and younger, who have made a significant impact on the industry.


Nomination Form: Download Advertising Hall of Fame Nomination Form

The Hall of Fame seeks to recognize the very best among Southern Arizona marketing and advertising professionals who have led, mentored and inspired others to succeed in this industry, while preserving the legacy of our past and promise of our future through the next generation. New inductees will be honored each year during the annual Hall of Achievement awards ceremony.

Net proceeds from the AAFT Advertising Hall of Achievement event benefits the Tucson Advertising Federation Educational Foundation, a 501(C)3 charitable organization.

Hall of Fame Member Profiles

Dave Bloom
† (Owner Dave Bloom & Sons, Men’s Clothing Store, President ‘52-‘53)
John Bort (Executive Director of the Better Business Bureau 1962-91, Treasurer Tucson Ad Club ‘63-‘70)
Ella Breazeale† (Assistant Vice President, Valley National Bank (1st Woman Valley National Bank Officer), President ‘53-‘54)
Joe Crystall† (Media Broadcasting: Owner KGVY Radio, President ‘68-‘69)
Phyllis Ehlinger† (Media Broadcasting: Owner KJMM/KSAZ , President ‘74-‘75)
LuAnn Koepke† (Owner Welcome Newcomers, President ‘80-‘81)
Georgia Lacy (Owner Geo & Associates Advertising & Marketing, President ‘83-‘84)
Doug Peck† (Print Business, Executive Director of Tucson Ad Club - 1970’s - early 80’s)
Patty Ruiz (Media Broadcasting Sales: KHYT Radio, President ‘82-‘83)
Larry Schnebly (Media Broadcasting: KGUN TV; On-Air, Manager -Sales, Production and Programming, President ‘70-‘71)
Foss Tucker (KCUB Radio Sales, Owner Tucker/Heatley Advertising, President ‘77-‘78)
George Wallace† (Media Broadcasting: Owner KTKT, GM KGUN TV, President ‘62-‘63)
Earl Wettstein† (Principal Wettstein TrustmanAdvertising and Wettstein-Bolchalk Marketing, Advertising and Public Relations, President ‘69-‘70)

Ed Ackerley
(Account Executive Ackerley Advertising, President ‘85-‘86, ‘86-‘87, AAF District 12 Governor ‘90-‘92, Chairman of the AAF Council of Governors ‘94-‘96

Tom Kisro
(Manager Tucson Visitor Magazine)

Michael Derby
(Owner Derby Outdoor Advertising, President ‘84-’85)
Michael Levy (Sales Manager: Territorial Newspapers, Whiteco, Tucson Weekly, President ‘89-‘90, AAF District 12 Governor ‘94-‘95)
Herb Rubin† (Publisher Art Programs and UA Sports, President ‘65-‘66)

George Morley
† (Sales Manager Arizona Wildcat)

Erni Cabat
† (Co-Founded Cabat-Gill Advertising with Norvel Gill, the first ad agency in Tucson, President ‘57-’58)
Mary Dunkel (Director Marketing/Media Pepsi-Cola, President ’95-’96, AAF District 12 Governor ‘11-‘12)

Larry Armstrong
(Owner Western Webb & Graphics, Addy Co-Chair for 10 years)
John (Sandy) McLeod† (Owner Hollis Photoengraving & Lithographers, President ‘76-‘77)
Jack Underwood† (Ad Club Founder, Sales Director: Arizona Daily Star, KVOA TV, President ‘44-‘45)

Ken Hemmeter
† (1st Ad Club Executive Director’73-‘80, Radio Announcer/Sales, Ad agency owner, BBB)
Charles Hollis† (Founded Hollis Photoengraving & Lithographers, President ’47-’48)
Steve Rosenberg (Publisher Tucson Lifestyle Magazine, Owner BizTucson Magazine, President ‘93-‘94)

Kathy Arrotta
(VP/Director of Marketing Finley Distributing, President ‘96-‘97)
Don Kaneen† (Media Broadcasting: Sales Manager KGUN, President ‘71-‘72)

Jim Click Jr
. (Owner Jim Click Automotive Group)

Sam and Lee Levitz
† (Owners Levitz Furniture)

Karl Eller
(Owner Eller Outdoor/Eller Media, Funded District 12 NSAC Competition for 6 years)
Rochelle Lang (General Sales Manager, Clear Channel Radio, President ‘94-‘95, ‘02-‘03, AAF District 12 Governor ‘01-‘02)
Ralph Simon† (President Tucson Photo Engraving Co., President ‘64-‘65)
Dave Slavin (Radio Announcer, KGUN-TV Sales, US West Direct/Dex One, President ‘88-‘89, AAF District 12 Governor ‘99-‘00 and ‘04-‘05)

Michael Bolchalk
(President & CEO Bolchalk/FReY Marketing, Advertising & PR, President ‘03-‘04)

Ray Depa
(Media Broadcasting: News Director, GM KGUN TV, President ‘04-‘05)
Jack Jacobson† (Media Broadcasting: Program & Promotions Manager KGUN TV, Horror Movie Host “Dr. Scar”)

Jim Arnold (Media Broadcasting: VP/GM, Journal Broadcast Group KGUN TV & KWBA TV and KOLD-TV 13.“Sunny Jim” during the 1970’s at KCUB Radio)
Jim Rowley
(Print Media: Partner/Coach, Strongpoint Marketing. VP Marketing & VP Audience Development, Arizona Daily Star)
Steven Meckler (Media Photography: Steven Meckler Photographer)

Ken Godat (President Godat Design, President '09-'10)
Mary Martin (Media Broadcasting: General Sales Manager Good News Radio Broadcasting, President '05-'06)
Jennifer Nunn (Media Broadcasting: Sales Manager & National Sales Manager E.W. Scripps Broadcast, President '04-'05)

Jackson Boelts (Principal Boelts Design, Professor Art University of Arizona)
Richard Rose (President Film Creations)
Mary Rowley (President Strongpoint Marketing, President '08-'09)

Steve Lynn (Chief Strategy Officer, Strongpoint Marketing)
Chris Mooney (Chris Mooney Photography)
Balfour Walker (Balfour Walker Photography)

Robyn Frey (President/Creative Director, FReY Creative Marketing)
Kerry Stratford (President, The Caliber Group)

Doug Martin (President/General Manager, Good News Radio Broadcasting)
Mary Swiergol (Publisher, The Desert Leaf)

† Deceased

Nominees to the Advertising Hall of Fame are judged on the following criteria:

Those men and women who have distinguished themselves in their advertising careers, who have contributed to the betterment of advertising and its reputation and who have made significant voluntary efforts outside the workplace, including service to AAFT and/or other similar organizations, as well as service to local non-profit organizations supporting positive causes. AAF Tucson does not require individuals to have retired from the advertising industry prior to nominating/induction into the local Advertising Hall of Fame.

Nominations are accepted annually.