AAF Tucson Special Awards Finalists Announced / 02/17/2016 12:27 pm

February 17, 2016 – AAF Tucson has announced finalists selected for four special recognition honors which will be presented during its 35th Annual ADDY Awards® gala event at the Casino Del Sol Resort on Saturday, March 12, 2016. The new awards are expected to be presented annually by AAF Tucson:

Media Sales Professional of the Year

This award honors collaboration and partnership with the creative professionals in the market.  Finalists for this award include: Alfredo Prince, Senior Account Executive for Cox Media; Kim Seyller, Senior Account Manager at iHeartMedia and Bradley Smith, Transit Market Manager of Lamar Advertising.

Marketing Executive of the Year
This award honors excellence, professionalism and outstanding achievement in marketing. Finalists include: Cara Frank, Director of Marketing for Simpleview and Robert Santiago, Marketing Director of eegee’s.

Creative Professional of the Year
Awarded to the most creative, the most influential, the most driven and prominent individual in the creative space. Finalists selected in this award category are: Don Abbott,Owner & Creative Director of Abbott Media Productions; Michael Caballero, Graphic Design Supervisor for Casino Del Sol and Lisa Love, Creative Director at Simpleview.  

Local Production of the Year
This award honors the best station produced work in the market for either self- promotion or a client campaign. Broadcast finalists are: KGUN 9 On Your Side Marketing Team at The E.W. Scripps Company and the KVOA-TV/News 4 Tucson Creative Services Department ofKVOA Communications, Inc.

Award criteria is available online at

AAF Tucson and Ad2 Tucson are comprised of over 300 local advertising and media professionals. Both clubs work to enhance the professional development of club members, while increasing recognition for the advertising industry and giving back to the local community.  They are local affiliates of the American Advertising Federation, a national organization that represents the advertising industry in its entirety.  For information on upcoming events or becoming a member, visit

Judges needed for the 8th Annual Tucson Area High School Graphic Design Championships / 02/16/2016 3:38 pm



Friday March 4th at the Art Institute of Tucson, located at Grant & Rosemont

Top students from seven area schools will create a variety of designs for local business clients that day. Judging will take place 2:00 – 4:00 pm. A winner will be chosen based on scoring from the panel of judges. 

Five Judges are still needed - preferably people with design expertise. All judges will have a chance to meet other area professionals from the judging committee. 



The Art Institute of Tucson

The current issue of Graphic Design USA has included a special feature: “STUDENTS TO WATCH IN 2016”. The publication selected four top Art Institute of Tucson graphic design and advertising students to feature. 

They are: Emiko Higman, Xavier Rios, Dylan Hermosillo and Justin Bright.

AIT Students to Watch 2016

If you don’t get the printed magazine you can see and read about them in the online magazine.

Congratulations for such a terrific all deserve it and then some.

Thanks to the four students and their faculty mentors, including Jim Lienhart and many others, for burnishing the Ai design curriculum brand nationwide and gaining attention to the tremendous student talent within the Tucson design community!